Home Film IFFNY wraps up successful 8th edition

IFFNY wraps up successful 8th edition

After enriching and interesting five days of film screenings, round-table discussions and Q&A sessions the 8th Edition of the International Filmmaker Festival of New York (IFFNY) came to an end on Tuesday, May 21 2019, with a closing ceremony where winners of various awards were announced.

Festival host and film director Dr. Amina Zhaman took the stage and stated that IFFNY has served to deepen international cinema and build the bridge of a universal language of cinema without borders.

The festival organizer Mrika Krasniqi, asserted the importance of IFFNY for independent filmmakers and young filmmakers.

“IFFNY is a positive step to connecting filmmakers from all around the world to have a platform where their art and creative vision matter. We support young and independent filmmakers and and want to give them a chance to showcase their film projects in New York City, the iconic center of arts,” said Mrika Krasniqi for NY Glamour Magazine.

The Red Carpet Opening Ceremony took place on Friday, May 17 2019, at Dolby Laboratory Theater featuring Special Guests, filmmakers, actors, artists and VIPs.

Producer Rush Vyas and rapper Taizu (Best New Artist) (Dona Photography)

Sayoko Akutsu (Olsi Beci Photography)

The jury comprised of five prestigious members included: Jon Russell Cring, (President of the Jury); Ibër Deari (IFFNY Festival Selector); Maja Wampuszyc, Miranda Jean Larson, and Carlos Freire. The Grand Jury and Festival prizes were announced during the Awards Gala ceremony held on May 21 2019 at Dolby Laboratory Theater. The film screenings took place at the well-known Producers Club Theaters.

The big winner this year was the team of “Acre Dreams” grabbing the Best Director Award for Dani Wachsman, Best Production Award, Best Actor Award for Haitham Omari, nomination for Best Feature Film, and honorable mention for Festival Excellence Award for Jiries Copti.  

Director Dani Wachsman and Mrika Krasniqi (Dona Photography)


1. Best Music video
Leading me Straight by Burke Hefner – WINNER 
-Drowning Karina Hilmer & Felix Backhaus
-Too Anastasia Lebedeva

2. Best Animation
-Trap by Paul James
Hudson River by Vlash Drononiki – WINNER 
-The Call by Anca Damian

3. Cinematography Award
-Moon Hotel Kabul by Anca Damian
-Ismael by Axel Cuevas de Chaunca – WINNER 
-Elephant in the room by Chantelle Eidenbenz

4. Best Production Award
-Moon hotel Kabul by Anca Damian
Acre Dreams by Dani Wachsman – WINNER 
-GogolDoc by Alise Pavlovskaya

5. Best Short Documentary Film
-The traffic separating device by Johan Palmgen
Space to explore by Katherine DuBois – WINNER 
-Wallmapu by Ben Sturgulewski

6. Best Feature Documentary Film
1. GogolDoc by Alise Pavlovskaya – WINNER 
2.Let’s Talk About Sex by Lisa Burd
3.Doda by Visar Vishka


7. Best Actress Award
-Nayeli Alarco “To Infinity”
-Gina Alajar “The Decaying”

8. Best Actor Award
-Eric Chantelauze “Kids with Guns”
Haitham Omari “Acre Dreams” – WINNER

9. Best Short Film
“ELEPHANT IN THE ROOM” by Chanelle Eidenbenz – WINNER 
-“To Infinity” by Gabriel Savodivker
-“On the Road” by Irdit Kaso

10. Best Feature Film
-“MOON HOTEL Kabul” by Anca Damian – WINNER 
-“Acre Dreams” by Dani Wachsman
-“Kids with Guns” by Anthony Faure


11. Best Director Award:
-Dani Wachsman “Acre Dreams”


Honorable Mention:
-Sayoko Akutsu – Ofuku in Recognition of Excellence in Short Film

Honorable Mention: 
-Jiries Copti – Acre Dreams

Honorable Mention: 
-Jagraj Singh – Time to sleep in Recognition of Excellence in Short Music Video

Rising Star Award:
-Aaron Mak – Go Louie Go

Honorable Mention: 
-Hareza Basha – DELETE In Recognition of Excellence in Short Film

Creative Innovation in Filmmaking Award: 
-Mashroor Parvez – THE DOGS ILLUSION

Breakthrough Performance Award:
-Nico Falcone Georgiadis – WHOSE REALITY 2.0?

Creative Innovation in Filmmaking Award:
-Jamal Hodge – HAPPY DIVORCE

Photographer of the Year 2019: 
-Liridona Gjokaj – Dona Photography

Historic Photographer of the Year 2019: 
-Olsi Beci – Olsi Beci Photography

-Ivan Morales – Innovation Media New York

Excellence in Leadership Award: 
Jon Russell Cring, Ibër Deari, Maja Wampuszyc, Miranda Jean Larson, Carlos Freire

Olsi Beci Photography
Mrika Krasniqi and Dr. Amina Zhaman


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

“Zendaya: The Rising Star with a Glittering Career and a Close-Knit Family”

Zendaya Maree Stoermer Coleman, professionally known as Zendaya, is a multi-talented actress, singer, and fashion icon. She rose to fame for her...

“From Myth to Reality: The Transforming Story of the Moon”

The moon, our nearest celestial neighbor, has been a source of fascination and wonder for centuries. From ancient times, when it was...

“A Comprehensive Guide to Vegan Eating: A List of Nutritious and Delicious Plant-Based Foods”

A vegan diet is a lifestyle choice that involves abstaining from consuming animal products, such as meat, dairy, eggs, and honey. Instead,...

“Rising Stars: The 25 Best Young Actresses in Hollywood”

Timothee ChalametSaoirse RonanFlorence PughTom HollandZendayaAnsel ElgortShameik MooreHarris DickinsonLucas HedgesKiernan ShipkaNoah CentineoBillie LourdThomasin McKenzieMadison BeerElle FanningRoddy RicchAbraLulu WilsonWillem DafoeBrooklynn PrinceJulia ButtersDafne KeenStorm...

“30 Phenomenal Female Athletes Who Paved the Way in Sports History”

Babe Didrikson ZahariasSerena WilliamsSimone BilesSteffi GrafJackie Joyner-KerseeMartina NavratilovaMia HammAnnika SörenstamChris EvertAlthea GibsonFlorence Griffith-JoynerNadia ComăneciGertrude EderleBabe RuthWilma RudolphCathy FreemanBetty RobinsonSonja HenieSonja HenieKristine...
Download Best WordPress Themes Free Download
Download WordPress Themes Free
Download WordPress Themes
Premium WordPress Themes Download
download udemy paid course for free
download samsung firmware
Download WordPress Themes Free
online free course